The Group Access Control Lists dialog allows managing the camera's user groups that are assigned in the Users and Passwords dialog.
The Public Access row makes the corresponding screens and functions publicly available, i.e. accessing them does not require a user name and password. If a checkbox in this row is activated, editing the group access rights below is not possible. If you would like to set individual access rights for certain screens or functions, you need to deactivate the checkbox in this row, then set the access rights for the individual groups.
The following rules apply for group names and passwords:
adminas user name and
By default, new groups are created without any access rights. If the desired checkboxes are not accessible (gray), deactivate the corresponding checkbox in the Public Access row at the top of the dialog.
When activating a Screen, the software will set the required minimum access rights in the Function section automatically. These checkboxes will remain checked even if the screen has been deactivated for this particular group; they have to be removed one by one, if required.
Activate the Remove Group option behind the group(s) you would like to delete and click on Set at the bottom of the dialog.
Once you have finished configuring the groups, you should always store the settings in the camera’s permanent memory. If the configuration is not stored in the camera's permanent memory, all deleted groups will again be valid after the next camera reboot!
If a group has been deleted, all users assigned to the deleted group in the Users and Passwords dialog will be assigned to the undefined group.
The admins group cannot be deleted. Users of this group always have access to the administration menu.
The access rights are split into three sections:
Access to the camera screens in this section can be set individually for every group.
In order to ensure that the minimum access rights are granted, the corresponding access rights in the Function section will be granted automatically when activating a certain screen (even if the checkboxes are gray as they are publicly accessible). When deactivating a screen or view, these access rights will remain checked and have to be unchecked one by one. For additional information on this topic, see the Minimum Access Rights section.
The Live screen of the MOBOTIX camera displays the current images of the camera.
The Admin Menu contains all dialogs for configuring the camera.
Use the Player screen to view and download the events stored in the internal or the external image storage of the camera.
Use the Multi View screen to combine several cameras in different patterns and to assign special functions (highlighting, focus on alarm, ...) for the individual cameras.
The PDA screen displays the camera's current image for low-resolution devices (PDAs/MDAs and mobile phones).
If you would like to see a list of events on your PDA and download event images, open the PDA Event List.
This rights controls the access using MxViewer (previously named MxPEG Viewer).
The access rights in this section are required by the different Screens/Views for proper operation, but can be removed one by one, if required.
The Info function of the MOBOTIX camera provides access to the Camera Status dialog showing various information on the camera (model, variant, software version, network configuration, ...).
This function is required to see the live image of the Guest screen (see above) of the MOBOTIX camera. It shows the current live image with a reduced frame rate.
This function is required to see the live image of the Live screen (see above) of the MOBOTIX camera. It shows the current live image with maximum frame rate.
This function allows getting images from the MOBOTIX camera's CGI interface that delivers different images.
|API (QC, SB)||
This function allows accessing the camera's HTTP API interface, which allows remote-controlling the camera. This interface is also used by the Quick Controls (dropdown lists above the live image) and the softbuttons of the different screens.
The access rights in this section provide access to different configuration sections of the MOBOTIX camera.
This rights grants access to the Admin menu of the MOBOTIX camera and all of its configuration dialogs (network parameters, event storage on file servers, transmission profiles, audio and phone settings, ...).
This rights grants access to the image control dialogs of the MOBOTIX camera's Setup menu.
This rights grants access to the event control dialogs of the MOBOTIX camera's Setup menu.
Specific screens require certain Functions for proper operation. For example, the Guest screen requires the Guest Image function, the Live screen requires the Live Image function (see Function table).
To facilitate setting access rights, all required functions of a screen will be set automatically if a certain screen is being activated for a group (the required Function checkboxes are activated automatically). The access rights added automatically comprise all required functions for a screen to work properly.
Once set, the checkboxes can be deactivated again manually. One group may thus have access to the Live screen, using the functions controlled by API (QC, SB) is not allowed. Likewise, it is possible to grant access to the Guest screen for a group using the Guest Image function and also allow accessing the Camera Status dialog (Info function).
The checkboxes of the Public Access row grant public access to camera screens, functions and configuration sections, i.e. you will not need a user name or password to access these areas of the camera. An exception is the Admin configuration section, which cannot be opened for public access.
If you would like to set individual access rights for certain screens or functions, you need to deactivate the checkbox in the Public Access row, then set the access rights for the individual groups.
To prevent the camera from unauthorized access, you should execute the following steps:
adminuser's password to
meinsm(Users and Passwords dialog)!
Click on the Set button to activate your settings and to save them until the camera is rebooted.
Click on the Close button to close the dialog. While closing the dialog, the system checks the entire configuration for changes. If changes are detected, you will be asked if you would like to store the entire configuration permanently.