Sommario   Guida in linea MOBOTIX Lingua: en  

Managing Users and Passwords

The Users and Passwords dialog allows managing the user names and passwords for granting access to the camera. The Group Access Control List dialog allows creating and editing groups and the corresponding access rights later on.

The following rules apply for user names and passwords:

Notes:


Creating New Users

You will need to enter the same password twice when creating new users or when modifying the user name; this is done to make sure that the passwords are matching.

There has to be at least one user of the admins group. The admin user of the admins group (password is meinsm) is the factory-preset administrator of the camera.

Setting the Group

Modifying a user's group does not require entering a new password.

As per factory default, three groups have been preset (admins, users, guests). The access rights of these groups are managed in the Group Access Control Lists dialog. This dialog also allows creating new groups and editing existing ones.

Users may also be assigned the undefined group; this may be done to temporarily deactivate users or to create users before their group has been created. Users of this group do not have any access rights.

If a group has been deleted in the Group Access Control List dialog, all users assigned to the deleted group will be assigned to the undefined group.

Deleting Users

Activate the Remove option behind the user(s) you would like to delete and click on Set at the bottom of the dialog.

Once you have finished configuring users, passwords and groups, you should always store the settings in the camera’s permanent memory. If the configuration is not stored in the camera's permanent memory, all deleted user names and passwords will again be valid after the next camera reboot!

Protecting a Camera From Public Access

To prevent the camera from unauthorized access, you should execute the following steps:

  1. If you would like to reset all users, passwords and groups (Group Access Control Lists dialog), it may be useful to load the Factory settings.
    Caution! This will also reset the admin user's password to meinsm!
  2. Make sure that you change the password for the admin user!
  3. In the Group Access Control List dialog, deactivate all checkboxes of the Public Access row.
  4. Create the required user groups (in Group Access Control List) and users.

Storing the Configuration

Click on the Set button to activate your settings and to save them until the camera is rebooted.

Click on the Close button to close the dialog. While closing the dialog, the system checks the entire configuration for changes. If changes are detected, you will be asked if you would like to store the entire configuration permanently.

Altre lingue: en, it

©2001-2017 MOBOTIX AG, Germany · http://www.mobotix.com/